New Zealand Post stamps celebrate Year of the Tiger

5 January 2010

The charismatic and success-driven Tiger features on the latest New Zealand Post stamp issue as it celebrates the "Year of the Tiger" for the Chinese Lunar New Year.

The Year of the Tiger stamps are the second release in a lunar series being issued by New Zealand Post and, like the Year of the Ox stamps issued in 2009, have been designed by specialist Chinese designers from cross-cultural New Zealand communications agency, Bananaworks.

New Zealand Post General Manager Stamps Business, Ivor Masters said: "This series uniquely captures Chinese and New Zealand elements to mark this special time of year."

"Given our increasingly multicultural nation, and the strong ties that Chinese communities have with Kiwis across the country, it is an honour for us to recognise the Chinese New Year and to join the celebrations," said Mr Masters.

According to the Chinese Lunar Calendar, people born in the Year of the Tiger are generally well liked because of their charismatic personalities. Always at their happiest when climbing the ladder of success, they are quick learners, need to be challenged and often prefer to work alone.

The Year of the Tiger issue features four stamps, a miniature sheet, two first day covers, and a presentation pack that Mr Masters said is likely to be particularly popular with those who celebrate the Chinese New Year tradition of gift giving.

The stamps consist of a $2.30 stamp featuring the Wellington beehive to symbolise the capital's festival celebrations during the Chinese New Year; $1.80 and $1.00 stamps featuring images of the Tiger in a colourful and contemporary design; and a 50 cent stamp representing the Chinese symbol for the Lunar Tiger.

The Year of the Tiger stamps range is available from 6 January 2010 at all New Zealand PostShop outlets, REAL Aotearoa stores in Christchurch, Wellington and Auckland, the Wanganui Collectables and Solutions Centre and online at

If you were born between the following dates you were born in a Year of the Tiger:

8 February 1902 - 28 January 1903
26 January 1914 - 13 February 1915
13 February 1926 - 1 February 1927
31 January 1938 - 18 February 1939
17 February 1950 - 5 February 1951
5 February 1962 - 24 January 1963
23 January 1974 - 10 February 1975
9 February 1986 - 28 January 1987
28 January 1998 - 15 February 1999
15 February 2010 - 3 February 2011