NZ Post Christmas dates

5 November 2015

New Zealand Post has released its sending and delivery dates to help people plan for Christmas.

International and domestic sending dates for letters and parcels, including YouShop parcels, are on the New Zealand Post website and are available in PostShop stores.

“People sending parcels overseas for Christmas will need to get them in the post by early December,” says Service Delivery Chief Operating Officer, Ashley Smout.

“We have an early bird special for people who are ready to send parcels overseas now, but they’ll have to be in quick,” says Mr Smout. “People can save 20% on International Air parcel delivery if they post items before Sunday 15 November either in-store, or by using our online Pay to Post service.”

“We recommend people check the mailing deadlines and delivery targets for all our postal products. A little planning will go a long way in making sure postal items arrive when they need to over the festive season,” says Mr Smout.

New Zealand Post has also released the dates when posties will be delivering mail to households over the holiday break.

Posties will not be delivering mail on four of the statutory holidays - Christmas Day and Boxing Day (25, 26 December), New Year’s Day and the day after (1, 2 January).

However, there will be normal postal deliveries from Monday 28 December - Thursday 31 December and from Monday 4 January onwards.

“It pays to allow one to two extra working days for delivery when sending mail over the Christmas and New Year period because of the statutory holidays,” says Mr Smout.

New Zealand Post is reminding people who are going away over the Christmas holidays to consider putting a hold on their mail. This can be easily arranged online at www.nzpost.co.nz or at a PostShop.

The sending dates for Christmas are set out below and are on the New Zealand Post website at www.nzpost.co.nz/christmas

International Australia South Pacific, Asia, North America, UK & Europe Rest of the world
International Air Wednesday 9 December Friday 4 December Wednesday 2 December
International Courier Monday 14 December Friday 11 December Monday 7 December
International Express Courier Wednesday 16 December Monday 14 December Friday 11 December
YouShop The last day to pay for your YouShop delivery from USA, UK and China is Saturday 5th December.

Sending within New Zealand dates

Friday 18 December - Standard Post, Standard Parcel, Tracked Parcel

Wednesday 23 December - FastPost, Courier Parcel, Courier & Signature Parcel

(*FastPost has a next working day delivery target between major towns and cities.)