Aotearoa Hydrogen Awards

Ryan oversaw NZ Post’s procurement and trial of a hydrogen fuel cell-powered truck which was launched in July last year and is now fully embedded in NZ Post’s commercial heavy transport operations.

Ryan’s hard work and dedication was recognised along with other finalists at the Hydrogen Transport Award at the H2 2 ZERO Summit Gala Dinner held in Auckland last night.

Ryan was a finalist in the Hydrogen Transport Award – which was won by the H W Richardson Group from Southland. H W Richardson have two hydrogen hybrid trucks on the road and have committed to investment in building out their own refuelling, supported by their Allied Petroleum brand.

Manufactured by Hyundai, the XCIENT Cell truck is the world’s first heavy-duty fuel-cell truck and is also the first of its kind to be put into heavy transport use in Aotearoa New Zealand.

“I'm humbled by the nomination as there is always a large number of people involved in these projects and I couldn't have done it without them,” Ryan says.

“I'm glad to see any hydrogen project recognised, but especially excited for ours to be on the list as it builds awareness which is crucial if the industry is to move forward.”

Ryan has been in NZ Post’s transport division for seven years, moving across from the mail side of the business where he worked in a number of analyst and operational leadership roles for 10 years.

Before he oversaw the trial of the hydrogen truck, he said he knew “a lot less” than what he does now.

“Having worked on this project for the past two years I can see there’s a big opportunity for hydrogen to support the heavy freight industry in this country, but that will require greater adoption to attract investment in both vehicles and refuelling.”

New, government-funded hydrogen refuelling sites are due to open in Wiri, Te Rapa, Tauranga, and Palmerston North in coming months, enabling refuel in 15 minutes with state-of-the-art technology.

Dr Linda Wright, CEO of the New Zealand Hydrogen Council, says a total of 42 nominations were received, which were narrowed down to 24 finalists competing for six award categories, with several companies and individuals being successful in more than one category.

“The panel of judges were particularly impressed with the high calibre and depth of the nominations across the categories and would like to congratulate all of successful finalists,” Linda said.

“These organisations and individuals truly reflect the innovation and commitment of industry to decarbonising New Zealand’s economy.

The judges included Ian Kennedy (Chair, Japan New Zealand Business Council), Stephen Canny (Chair, New Zealand Hydrogen Council), Hayley Alexander (CEO, Alexander Group), and Elizabeth Halstead (New Zealand Energy Business Leader, Arup).

Back to all media releases