Mailing dates & times

See the public and regional holidays that can affect delivery times.

Public holidays

Public holiday 2022 Dates
Waitangi Day 7 February
Good Friday 15 April
Easter Monday 18 April
ANZAC Day 25 April
Queen's Birthday 6 June
Labour Day 24 October
Christmas Day 25 December - observed 27 December
Boxing Day 26 December

Anniversary dates

Region 2022 Dates
Auckland Monday 31 January
Canterbury (South) Monday 26 September
Canterbury Friday 11 November
Chatham Islands Monday 28 November
Hawke’s Bay Friday 21 October
Marlborough Monday 31 October
Nelson Monday 31 January
Otago Monday 21 March
Southland Tuesday 19 April
Taranaki Monday 14 March
Wellington Monday 24 January
Westland Monday 28 November

Please allow one to two extra working days for delivery when sending over the above periods.

Delivery targets

Delivery targets are guidelines only and we do not guarantee that your item will reach its destination within the delivery target. Delivery to and from rural or remote areas may take longer. For the purpose of delivery targets, the day in which a mail item is accepted by us is day zero. If you post an item over the counter in a New Zealand Post retail outlet after that day’s final clearance, day zero will be the next working day.

You can expect that items sent overseas will usually arrive at their destination within the timeframe specified for each service. Because we do not directly control all parts of the delivery chain, we cannot guarantee that your items will always reach its destination within the delivery target. Delivery to areas outside major cities, or where your item is dutiable or held in Customs, may take longer.