Meet the New Zealand Post Group Board and Senior Leadership Team.


The Board of the New Zealand Post Group currently comprises of eight non-executive Directors. The two Shareholding Ministers – the Minister of Finance and the Minister of State Owned Enterprises, on behalf of the Crown, appoint the Directors considering the balance of competencies and experience on the Board and through consultation with the Chair, Jane Taylor.

The Board is responsible to the shareholding Ministers for directing and monitoring the management and affairs of the New Zealand Post Group. Under the State Owned Enterprises Act 1986, New Zealand Post is required to operate as a successful business and specifically to achieve the following objectives:

  • to operate an efficient, effective and profitable business and provide to the owners a commercial return on the capital employed;
  • to be a good employer; and
  • to exhibit a sense of social responsibility by having regard to the interests of the community in which it operates and by endeavouring to accommodate or encourage these when able to do so.

The Board establishes objectives and sets strategies to achieve those objectives and monitors management’s performance against these. The Board has delegated the day-to-day management to the Chief Executive, David Walsh.

Find out more - Meet our Board.

Senior Leadership Team

The Chief Executive, David Walsh, has appointed a senior management team to lead the organisation. This Senior Leadership Team, represents all parts of the organisation and bring to the team a wide range of experience - both internal and external to the Group. They meet together regularly to manage the execution of strategy set by the Board.

Find out more - Meet our Senior Leadership Team.